January 1 to January 13, 2018


Total miles run, Week 1: 10 miles
Total miles run, Week 2: 17.1 miles


The first two weeks of January were my third and fourth weeks back in the saddle as a runner. The biggest challenge I faced in this stretch was continuing to hold back and avoid injuries. I wasn’t worried about speed or distance, instead basing all of my runs on perceived effort and time.

During these weeks, I stayed on the treadmill (with its cushioned, soft, easy-on-my-knees deck) and ran paces that felt comfortable. Overall, the runs were very easy and I felt great. Combined with a healthy diet resulting in a 500 calorie per day deficit, I started this cycle at 190 pounds and ended at 185. I swear that my knees could feel the difference that even 5 pounds made…

In the second week, I took a chance with a big mileage increase of about 70%. General training wisdom says to avoid increases of more than 10%, but I felt great and thought my body could easily absorb an additional 7 miles. Fortunately, I was right and finished this cycle strong and healthy.

Monday, January 1, 2018:

Base mileage run
2 miles in 20:00 minutes
Treadmill

Tuesday, January 2, 2018:

Cross training day
20:00 minute spin on the spin bike

Wednesday, January 3, 2018:

Base mileage run
2 miles in 20:00 minutes
Treadmill

Thursday, January 4, 2018:

Rest day
Yoga

Friday, January 5, 2018:

Base mileage run
2 miles in 20:00 minutes
Treadmill

Saturday, January 6, 2018:

Base mileage run
4 miles in 40:00 minutes
Treadmill

Sunday, January 7, 2018:

Base mileage run
4 miles in 40:00 minutes
Treadmill

Monday, January 8, 2018:

Base mileage run
3.2 miles in 30:00 minutes
Treadmill

Tuesday, January 9, 2018:

Cross training day
45:00 minute snowshoe

Wednesday, January 10, 2018:

Base mileage run
3.3 miles in 30:00 minutes
Treadmill

Thursday, January 11, 2018:

Base mileage run
4.3 miles in 40:00 minutes
Treadmill

Friday, January 12, 2018:

Base mileage run
2.3 miles in 20:00 minutes
Treadmill

Saturday, January 13, 2018:

Rest day
Yoga