January 14 to January 27, 2018


Total miles run, Week 3: 19.5 miles
Total miles run, Week 4: 18.1 miles


TheĀ goal of this two-week microcycle was to push my long runs past 40 minutes. The increase was small – just an additional 5 minutes on both Saturdays – but I was able to do it successfully without any knee pain or discomfort. To have run consistently from early December into the end of January injury-free was a major win for me!

While a 45-minute long run isn’t really thatĀ long, especially at the 10:00 minute per mile pace that I ran, back-to-back weeks just under 20 miles and with runs of that length were the base that I wanted to have before really stretching out into 1+ hour territory.

Sunday, January 14, 2018:

Base mileage run
3.25 miles in 30:00
Treadmill

Monday, January 15, 2018:

Base mileage run
4.3 miles in 40:00
Treadmill

Tuesday, January 16, 2018:

Base mileage run
3.6 miles in 35:00
Treadmill

Wednesday, January 17, 2018:

Cross Training day
30:00 spin in Zone 2
20 Burpees

Thursday, January 18, 2018:

Base mileage run
3.1 miles in 30:00
Treadmill

Friday, January 19, 2018:

Rest day
Yoga

Saturday, January 20, 2018:

Base mileage long run
4.25 miles in 45:00 minutes
Treadmill

Sunday, January 21, 2018:

Base mileage run
2.7 miles in 30:00 minutes
Treadmill

Monday, January 22, 2018:

Cross Training day
30:00 spin in Zone 2

Tuesday, January 23, 2018:

Base mileage run
3.4 miles in 35:00
Treadmill

Wednesday, January 24, 2018:

Base mileage run
4.5 miles in 45:00 minutes
Treadmill

Thursday, January 25, 2018:

Rest day

Friday, January 26, 2018:

Base mileage run
3 miles in 30:00 minutes
Treadmill

Saturday, January 27, 2018:

Base mileage long run
4.5 miles in 45:00
Treadmill